You are here: Home NEWS & EVENTS Events Calendar
Events Calendar
  • [ November 08, 2018]

    Reconfigurable Systems for Manufacturing and Automotive Applications

  • Speaker:
    A. Galip Ulsoy
    November 13, 2018
    Room 210, COE Building No.1
    Leyuan Shi
  • Abstract
  • We live in an engineered world, where mechatronics is enabling the design of smart systems in which knowledge about the system can be embedded in the system itself. The design of such smart systems requires new engineering design methods, such as reconfiguration, co-design and component swapping modularity, which are introduced here in the context of applications in manufacturing and automotive systems. Reconfigurable manufacturing systems (RMS) provide exactly the manufacturing functionality and capacity needed, exactly when needed. Examples are presented to highlight the role that dynamics and control plays in designing systems to be more reconfigurable. These examples include optimal capacity management in an RMS, dynamics of a reconfigurable machine tool, and a reconfigurable stamping control system. Methods for combined design, or co-design, of an artifact and its controller and for component swapping modularity in controller design, are also presented with applications to active suspension design, and controller design for a plug-in hybrid electric vehicle, respectively.
  • Biography
  • Galip Ulsoy is the C.D. Mote, Jr. Distinguished University Professor Emeritus of Mechanical Engineering (ME) and the William Clay Ford Professor Emeritus of Manufacturing at University of Michigan (UM), Ann Arbor. He received the Ph.D. from University of California at Berkeley (1979), the M.S. degree from Cornell University (1975), and the B.S. degree from Swarthmore College (1973). He has served as Chair of ME at UM, as Director of Civil and Mechanical Systems Division at the National Science Foundation (NSF), as Deputy Director of the NSF Engineering Research Center for Reconfigurable Manufacturing Systems, Director of the US Army Ground Robotics Reliability Center and as President of the American Automatic Control Council (AACC). His research interests are in the dynamics and control of mechanical systems. He has received numerous awards, including the AACC's 1993 O. Hugo Schuck Best Paper Award, the 2003 and 2016 Rudolf Kalman Best Paper Awards from the J. Dynamic Systems, Measurement and Control, the 2008 Albert M. Sargent Progress Award from the Society of Manufacturing Engineers (SME), the 2008 Rufus T. Oldenburger Medal and the 2013 Charles Russ Richards Award from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME), and the 2014 Hideo Hanafusa Outstanding Investigator Award in Flexible Automation.  He is a member of the US National Academy of Engineering, received the 2012 Presidential Special Award from the Scientific and Technological Research Council of Turkey, and is a Fellow of ASME, SME, Institution of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the International Federation of Automatic Control (IFAC).