You are here: Home NEWS & EVENTS Latest News
Latest News
  • [August 18, 2017]

    Prof. Yongmao Pei wins the 15th China Mechanics Science and Technology Youth Award

  • On August 14, "the 2017 Chinese Congress of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics (CCTAM) and Celebration on the 60th Anniversary of the Establishment of the Chinese Society of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics (CSTAM)" was held in Beijing Institute of Technology. At the conference, Yongmao Pei, Associate Professor in the Department of Mechanics and Engineering Science, College of Engineering, was awarded the 15th China Mechanics Science and Technology Youth Award, along with Hongtao Wang of Zhejiang University, Qunyang Li of Tsinghua University and Feng Xu of Xi'an Jiaotong University.

    Prof. Yongmao Pei (second from right) wins the 15th China Mechanics Science and Technology Youth Award

    CCTAM is held by CSTAM every two year. The purpose of the conference is to provide a way for scholars in this field to know more about the cutting-edge mechanical technology worldwide, to function as a bridge for the practical combination of mechanics and engineering, to serve as a link for researchers from different disciplines to communicate and to provide a stage for young mechanics workers to show their talents. Till now, CCTAM has become the largest academic event in the field of mechanics in terms of scale and influence. This year has been 60 years since the CSTAM was founded.

    Prof. Pei obtained his B.S. and Ph.D. from Tsinghua University. His research areas focuses on the experimental method and constitutive theory of electromagnetic functional materials, the development of experimental instruments for high temperature materials and structural mechanics, the method of high temperature microwave detection and super-resolution imaging, the adjustable mechanism and device of ultrasonic superfine / super-surface.

    The award was started by CSTAM is 1988, aiming to recognize young scientists who have made outstanding contributions in the field of mechanics. Previous winners from College of Engineering included Prof. Yueguang Wei (winner of the 4th, in 1993), Prof. Jianping Wang (winner of the 6th, in 1998), Prof. Jianxiang Wang (winner of the 7th, in 2000), Prof. Huiling Duan (winner of the 12th, in 2011), Associate Prof. Faxin Li (winner of the 14th, in 2015).