You are here: Home NEWS & EVENTS Latest News
Latest News
  • [August 5, 2017]

    Alumnus Xiang Yang wins Andreas Acrivos Dissertation Award in Fluid Dynamics

  • Recently, the College of Engineering alumnus Xiang Yang was selected the 2017 Andreas Acrivos Dissertation Award in Fluid Dynamics Recipient by the American Physical Society (APS). He was selected "for developing the novel integral wall modeling concept for large eddy simulations based on fundamental principles and for groundbreaking insights into the scaling implications of the attached eddy model for understanding fluctuations in wall-bounded turbulent flows."

    Alumnus Xiang Yang

    As the second largest physics organization in the world, APS selected one recipient each year to provide recognition to exceptional young scientists who have performed original doctoral thesis work of outstanding scientific quality and achievement in the area of fluid dynamics.

    Xiang Yang received his B.S. in mechanical engineering from College of Engineering, Peking University in 2012, supervised by Prof. Shiyi Chen and Yipeng Shi. He received his Ph.D. in mechanical engineering in 2016 from Johns Hopkins University, where he was advised by Professor Charles Meneveau and Professor Rajat Mittal. Dr. Yang’s doctoral thesis was on modeling of drag forces and velocity fluctuation statistics in wall-bounded flows at high Reynolds numbers.

    A sketch of the hierarchical random additive process in wall-bounded flows

    Yang is now a postdoctoral researcher at the  Center for Turbulence Research at Stanford University, working mostly with Professor Parvin Moin. His current work focuses on near-wall turbulence modeling, where he attempts to use the multi-fractal formalism, which was developed for the energy cascade process, to model processes in wall-bounded flows. He also studies wall-modeled large eddy simulation, where he uses this cost-efficient computational tool for problems with strong heat transfer and fluids with variable properties. Dr. Yang has been a member of the American Physical Society since 2013.